#1 Candidate for Medical Marijuana

#1 Candidate for Medical Marijuana

I’ve been meaning to write a post for a while about my good friend from high school, Tara. A couple of years ago she was diagnosed with Chron’s disease. Since then she has been in and out of hospitals being diagnosed, misdiagnosed, and worst of all, not diagnosed at all. All through this, she has been in a whole lot of pain and discomfort while trying to remain – and doing a damn good job – happy and unfazed.

My circle of girlfriends from high school have become huge advocates for the cause by running marathons, half-marathons, triathlons, and even taking full-time jobs at Team in Training. (In fact, this photograph was taken about a year ago in Albany, NY at a Team in Training event to raise money for a couple of my friends running the San Diego marathon.)

However, as wonderful as all of my friends are in helping to raise money for research for Chron’s, this does directly relieve the pain that Tara is in. This is an excerpt from an email she sent to all of us a few weeks ago:

I am all hooked up with wireless at the hospital now, so I will keep you updated with some emails. Maybe I will make a webpage and blog about it or something. Oh the things you can do with all your free time as you’re hooked up to an IV pumping white liquid food into your body. The rest of this may be too much for some to handle, but I love talking about my colon, so consider yourself warned.

There are not many medicines available for Crohn’s. I have had almost all of them, one of which I had a severe reaction to. The next downside is that of the medicines that are left generally work for a brief period of time until it all begins again. For a normal person, I am sure you are thinking, “Well, do it and deal with it when it comes again,” but I have really begun to question the quality of life issue.

You see, before this I had not been feeling well for a few weeks, went to the ER in Albany and Watertown and was sent home. Mind you, I had a severe UTI at the ER in Watertown, which my surgeron saw when she looked at my labs from SMC, and the doctor failed to even mention that, so I suggest not really going there.

I had a day between the ER in Watertown and coming to Cuse, and it was a day from hell. I was in the bathroom just about once per hour, got no sleep, and was in immense pain because of the Crohn’s on the outside of my little bum bum. I was jumping in the tub to soothe it after every bathroom trip, needless to say I think I owe Pete’s parents (her boyfriend) some cash flow for their next water bill.

As of right now, I am not running to the bathroom nearly as much, but there has been an increase in blood which is no good. So now we sit, we wait, we hope that the meds kick in and heal my rectum, but if not, that’s ok, too. It will be weird, hard, frustrating, difficult, etc. if I have to have a bag, but I have also looked a lot online about young people saying they were glad they did it, they wouldn’t change it, so I know I could definitely rock one.

Gotta think happy thoughts, “sunshine and butterflies” I believe is the saying. So I will keep you all posted as to what happens tomorrow. Hopefully we will have some more answers as I hate having it all in limbo not knowing what will happen.

This is coming from a 22 year old girl. If it were me, I would be much more cynical, angry, and sarcastic. What is dumbfounding to me in all of this, is that she has no access to a decent pain reliever. Obviously pot isn’t a cure, but to take her out of literally having a pain in the ass is enough of a reason to smoke her up. So come on, New York! Legalize it already.

Leave a Reply

