Weed = Instant Friends

Cocoa Beach

Click on the image for large version. 

Last week I left cold, gray, wet New York for a sunnier, warmer, palm tree filled Cocoa Beach (Florida). The first few days I was down there were spent trying to get my head screwed back on straight. I think I get seasonal depression because every time around this year, when the gray days never seem to end and just roll on one after another, I start to feel a bit hopeless. It took all of a day and a half of sunshine for that to go away.

I spent the majority of my time hanging out with my family drinking margaritas and going to delicious seafood restaurants (my father just retired and I tagged along on an old folks family vaca) . However, by the last couple of days I was itching to get back to the land of normal twenty somethings and away from the Bingo ladies, but not necessarily back to the cold.

On my last day, I was taking a walk down the beach by myself and amidst the sea of 55+ and 10- age groups, I spotted a couple of guys surfing. One of them noticed me and, I imagine, was flabbergasted to see someone relatively young that he didn’t recognize (I’m pretty sure this beach town is small enough that you’d know just about everyone in your age bracket who lives there). We made enough eye contact so that when I was on the return portion of my beach stroll, he motioned to me to come over and chat.

After we introduced ourselves and as his buddy was coming out of the water, he asked me if I smoked weed and if I would like to go smoke a blunt with them. It’s a very strange thing and something I don’t fully understand when someone can immediately sense that you are a pothead, or at least enjoy the green stuff. So naturally, I went and smoked with them (excellent weed, by the way).

In the hour that I hung out with them, we became friendly enough that I was invited over for dinner. I love restaurants, but I was a bit tired of them since I eat out the majority of the time in New York, as well. Home-grilled fish sounded amazing, as did the promise of more weed and a night of hanging out with a couple of very cool — and attractive — guys.

After easing the tension my plans brought about with the family (“But, how do you know they are ok? What do they DO? Are they in school? But, you’re by yourself!” — I couldn’t just come out and say to my super Catholic family, “They smoke weed. They’re totally chill. Lay off!”), I left for a night that will go down in my personal vacation history.

I had a delicious dinner that was cooked exactly the way that I cook for myself, read: ingredients that are as fresh as possible and cooked to enhance the flavor of the food itself, no drowning it in sauces. In fact, days later I still can’t stop thinking about the food; it made me remember how much I like to cook. Other than the food, bong hits and beers were plentiful, and these guys (and their two friends that showed up) were extremely laid back and easy to get along with.

Basically, I had a very good last night of vacation. So good, in fact, that I am now questioning my choice of geographic location. I really love New York, but the weather sucks 85% of the year , the people are high strung, and the boys, as my cousin so eloquently put it, “are like girls with dicks.” No offense to you New York boys, but WHY are your jeans tighter than mine?

I attribute this night to none other than the shared appreciation of Mary Jane. Without her, I don’t believe I would’ve felt such a strong sense that these people are my kind of people. So thanks, MJ. You pulled through once again.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Adil said,

    Although not the purpose of your article, I agree with your point re getting out of NY. Although i love that place, I couldnt help feeling that I was aging there at a manical rate. Whereas, when I went out to BC, all the outdoor activities and generally nice weather made me feel good, energized and alive. Its not surprising why there are so many liberally minded and pot smoking people out there.

    Oh and for the record, I think you can attest that my jeans were way loser than yours. I’m pretty sure I would wear on of your jean legs as an armband 😉

  2. 2

    MJ said,

    Yes, your jeans are much looser than mine. You know who I’m referring to 😉

  3. 3

    John Hemphat said,

    I cant tell you how many friends I’ve made with a bud or two. It’s almost the universal language.

    Smoke on baby!

  4. 4

    wem511 said,

    good point john, cause im super socially withdrawn and the only friends i really see now are my potheads 🙂

  5. 5

    Sarah Joynt said,

    very true. i have found the most amazing people through the beauty of weed.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

